| Citation Management Tools |
Bibliographic and Citation Management tools will assist HSRC staff in the management of bibliographic references as well as with the creation of bibliographies in numerous citation styles. These tools integrate with MS Word to enable in-text citations in the output style of choice. eRKC is promoting the use of Mendeley in the HSRC and provides proactive support for its use of it. Below please see a comparison of some of the tools available in the market.
| Mendeley: Getting Started |
Mendeley is a free bibliographic management tool and serves as a research social network that promotes the management and sharing of research papers, the discovery of research data and collaboration online. It is also used as a reference manager that transforms your citations and PDF into a digital Bibliography. It organizes, indexes and searches your personal library, annotates documents and cites as you write. The program permits the sharing of citations with other researchers.
Both the desktop and web programs have been developed by Elsevier. An account needs to be created online and the desktop application can be downloaded from the website. Upon registration, Mendeley provides the user with 2 GB of free web storage space.
When creating a Mendeley account, it is very important that you do not use the “Sign in via your institution” option, as the HSRC does not have
| Step 1: Getting started by creating an account |
this integration with Mendeley. Instead, please follow these steps:
On the Mendeley homepage, select Create Account:
When prompted, enter your email address, we strongly advice that you use your Gmail or other personal email address, then click continue:
When prompted to create a password, choose a password you will remember
Once you have filled in all the required information, you can start using Mendeley.
| Step 2: Download and install Desktop application |
After registering a Mendeley account, you will be prompted to install Mendeley desktop. Please follow the prompts to complete the installation.
| Step 3: Install the Mendeley Web Importer |
Once the Desktop application is installed go to Tools and click on <Install Mendeley Web Importer>. This feature will allow the importation of citations and some articles from your browser to your Library.
The Web Importer allows you to save references while you are searching for information on any database such as EbscoHost, Science Direct, ProQuest, etc or even Google Scholar. Download the web importer for any web browser, by following the instructions you will find at:
https://www.mendeley.com/reference-management/web-importer/
The Mendeley Web importer button will appear on the right-hand side of the browser as an extension, favourite or add-on.
Example of Microsoft Edge Plug-In
| Step 4: Install the Mendeley Ms Word Plugin |
You need the Mendeley plug-in to be able to do 'in-text citations' and automatically add your bibliography based on your preferred referencing style. This feature will allow you to insert citations and bibliographies into your Word document without having to cut and paste or leave the Word browser to your Library. To install the Mendeley plug-in for Word or other devices go to "Tools" on the Mendeley Desktop and click on <Install Mendeley Cite for Microsoft Word> and select the plug-in you wish to add.
| Zotero - Free web-based bibliography tool |
Zotero is a free web-based bibliography tool that is designed to store, manage, and cite bibliographic references, such as books and articles. It automatically detects content in your web browser and allows you to add it to your personal Library. It allows the storage of PDF, video/audio files and more and spontaneously indexes the full-text content of your research which makes it easily retrievable.
The basic functionality of Zetero is open-sourced and additional payment is required for supplementary storage.
There are 2 options available
Please click here to download: https://www.zotero.org/download/
| CiteULike |
CiteULike is a complimentary service which offers assistance in the management and discovery of scholarly references. It allows the sharing of references with co-researchers and permits the storage of PDF documents. It also helps you to manage your citations better by importing them to your personal library. The latest feature added to their list provide an option that allows automatic article recommendations. You can use the "Export" link at the top of your "Library" tab to export your library in either BibTeX or RIS format then use BibTeX or EndNote (or whichever reference manager you prefer) to build it into your bibliography.